What is VTARA?

The Virginia Tech Amateur Radio Association is a student-run organization dedicated to advancing the amateur radio hobby in the Virginia Tech community. VTARA provides field communications, emergency communications, education, and volunteer testing services to the local community.

The principal members of VTARA are current students at Virginia Tech. An undergraduate serves as the President, with any current student performing the offices of Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Maintenance Officer.

Because VTARA is a student organization at Virginia Tech, the rights and privileges of its members are largely determined by their student, faculty, and staff status at Virginia Tech.

Read Our Constitution Here


Current Officers (Fall 2018)

Position Name
President    Patrick Rowan, KE8HYW  
Vice-President Magda Moses, KM4EGE
Secretary Jonathan Kayne, KM4CFT
Treasurer William Reiger, KN4KAH

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Bob McGwier, N4HY

Club Trustee: Dr. Bill Davis, W9KIC